Yoga

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Yoga

My doctor told me yesterday he wants me in a beginners yoga class. What kinds of questions do I need to ask to ensure that they can adapt to my needs as a person with MS.

I have never done anything like this before so I don't know where to begin.

There is also a Yoga DVD available through MS Activesource.
    It was created for people with MS. Maybe this will be a good alternative if you are hesitant about going to a class?

Here is their info: http://www.msactivesource.com/ms-yoga.xml
    They also have an additional exercise DVD as well. Check them out!

Comment

Hi lisa~ I have been taking various yoga classes for years now and can't begin to tell you how beneficial it's been for me!

I not sure where you live in Indiana, but some searching brought up this from the NMSS - Indiana Chapter where there are yoga classes designed for those with MS - http://www.nationalmssociety.org/cha...oga/index.aspx or you could call the local chapter and ask around as classes change often enough.

If you are taking a beginning class for the more-abled, first let the instructor know you have MS and this is your first time. Ask if they have different props you can use (ie. chair, blocks, blankets, pillows) and let them know what you think you cannot do. Do you use a walker? Ask if you can use that for a prop. Can you safely get up and down from the floor? If not, ask about using a chair..

Gentle yoga (which I do now) poses are just that -done gently! Gentle movements, without having to strain and use major muscles, should be about gentle stretching and releasing tight muscles and allowing deep, steady breathing with the poses. Gentle yoga is not about gaining with pain! If there is pain, you are doing it wrong and ease up on your pose.

There's probably more I could say, but hopefully you get the picture. Good luck! I hope you find something that works well for you!
      1st sx '89 Dx '99 w/RRMS - SP since 2010