I'm dating - what to tell these people?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm dating - what to tell these people?

I'm on match.com and so far it's been fun. When is it normal to tell them I have MS? My sister tells me I should tell them on the first date and if I don't it looks like I'm hiding something. I feel more inclined to wait till the third date - I'd know them better and the one date only people don't need to know.

Where it gets sticky, real sticky, is when they ask me what I do for a living. I'm actually on disability but do various things part-time. So when I don't want to disclose MS I talk about the part-time jobs like they're my full income. I'd like to make that happen eventually, anyway.

I was diagnosed 8 years ago and one of the few things that has made MS bearable is having control over who knows and who doesn't. And this - this has been troubling enough to make me want to quit dating entirely.

On one date the guy's friend was there and didn't believe my story about my job. He grilled me incessantly but I didn't give it up. It was only the 2nd date and I wasn't even on it with him! It was miserable.

I just feel like my health issues are very private; I'm not "ashamed" per se. I am an open book on virtually every other topic!! : )

I say take it as it comes. Don't make hard rules about when you are going to tell. If you find someone you are comfortable with on date 1or 2...thell them! Observing the reaction will likely be very valuable. Seems like more work to "defend" your part time jobs without disclosing...though sounds like the one guy's buddy was a bit of a jerk!

Good luck!
    Dx: 2001
    Currently on Tysabri since Dec 2010
    Feel lucky to be doing so well!

Comment