Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newly Diagnosed

Hello,

I am 32 and received my diagnosis last week. Had my first attack in September 2010. My mother was diagnosed in the early '90s and passed away at the young age of 47 in 2006. She was always in pain and lost her mobility within 10 years. My doctor has assured me that there is no reason to believe that my experience will be similar. Of course he has no idea what my experience will be like; no one does. The unpredictability is very difficult for me.

I have 4 beautiful children - ages 16, 4, 2, and 9 months. I earned my MBA in July 2010 and am engaged to be married in June of this year. Needless to say the diagnosis has made it hard to feel as positive about the future as I did even six months ago.

Hi Kimberlyyvonne

Welcome to the MS World Forums- nice to meet you.

I am 32 and received my diagnosis last week. Had my first attack in September 2010. My mother was diagnosed in the early '90s and passed away at the young age of 47 in 2006.
    Sorry to learn that you were recently diagnosed with MS, and also that your Mom had MS and has passed away at a young age. That must be very difficult for you.

My doctor has assured me that there is no reason to believe that my experience will be similar. Of course he has no idea what my experience will be like; no one does. The unpredictability is very difficult for me.
    None of us has a crystal ball to know the future. About the only way I know to live with this unpredictability is to try to stay focused on living in today, and not catastrophize too much about an unknown future. It does takes practice!

I have 4 beautiful children - ages 16, 4, 2, and 9 months. I earned my MBA in July 2010 and am engaged to be married in June of this year. Needless to say the diagnosis has made it hard to feel as positive about the future as I did even six months ago.