Hiya

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hiya

Hello, this is my first time here. I was diagnosed in December 2008 after my right leg had been dragging because i couldn't feel it to lift it off the ground and i was walking like strange. I thought for a while that i had a trapped nerve in my leg!! But then my doctor said he wanted me to have an MRI to check for MS. I couldn't believe it, my mother had MS for many years and i was always under the impression that id never get it. Then my consultant hit me with it. He said sometimes it can be in the blood line. I have a daughter and i worry but surely it can't happen twice. Anyway, i guess i have been in denial because, believe it or not i did the london marathon when i was 25 and 26 for MS because of my mother. I wanted to do it in my 50th year but i don't see that happening now. I have friends but no one understands. Im so happy to talk to people who understand xx

bllodline

I know, I fear for my two children - boy and girl (grown now). I am the first in my family to be diagnosed.
    Just keep positive and keep on moving!

Comment

Hello Mw

Welcome to MS World!

I was diagnosed in December 2008 after my right leg had been dragging because i couldn't feel it to lift it off the ground and i was walking like strange.
      I can relate to the right leg dragging and the strange walking - those were a couple of my early symptoms too.

Anyway, i guess i have been in denial because, believe it or not i did the london marathon when i was 25 and 26 for MS because of my mother. I wanted to do it in my 50th year but i don't see that happening now.
      Wow, that's really cool - you did the London Marathon for MS because of your Mom. There are plenty of other ways for you to help the cause (if you want to) if a Marathon is no longer feasible. I know it's tough when we can't do all the things we used to. It stinks!

I have friends but no one understands. Im so happy to talk to people who understand