ME: Before and After MS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ME: Before and After MS

Hi There! I'm a divorced single male who, up until I was diagnosed with MS, has always been pretty much in near perfect health. Sure, I'm a little overweight, but I attribute alot of that to the way MS has relegated me to a sedentary lifestyle.

Growing up, I was somewhat athletic. Alot of baseball and swimming in the summers from the time I was age 7 and swimming in highschool. I wasn't great by any stretch of the imagination, but good enough, and respected enough that our Coach named me the first captain of the team. In all the years before that, the team always had "co-captains" and once, even "tri-captains." I was an uneasy leader but all that led to a partial scholarship for college at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, or IUP where I majored in Respiratory Therapy.

For reasons that I won't bore you with, I found it to offer limited possibilities for the future, but because the curriculum was so specialized, changing my major to Business, (My interest at the time), wasn't a good option because it would require 3 more years just to catch up on all the prerequisite courses I missed. Instead, I plowed ahead and graduated and immediately enrolled in West Virginia University's "2nd Degree in Business" program that I could complete in just one year! Yea!!! I got the degree, focusing my courses on those that would prepare me for a career in Personnel Management, Labor Relations and/or Human Resources. I never looked back. ...