New Here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Here

I think this is my first time here, but I've been on other MS related message boards in the past. I used to be involved with one that no longer exists and it was a wonderful place.

Some people didn't fit in there because of the philosophy. Things were not typically sugar coated, and there were no rainbows and unicorns. I liked that. I am a paramedic, and we are a really blunt bunch of folks. I am not great at sugar coating things.

About me: As I said previously, I am a paramedic (29 years) full-time. It may come to an end soon because I am starting to have some problems. That's okay. I planned for that by obtaining a B.S. in computer science. If I end up in a wheel chair, I can roll under a keyboard.

I'm 49 years old, married (19 years) to a wonderful wife, I have 2 children. I have a 16 year old daughter that is driving and dating. I have an 11 year old son that is all into video games. I got a little bit of a late start on this fatherhood thing. My family is my life. I know many people focus on their careers, and to an extent, I do too. I focus on it for the purpose of keeping my family up.

My wife just graduated nursing school in October. Our area is evidently saturated with nurses. So far, finding a job has proven to be an arduous task. She is also a paramedic, and has thought about getting back on an ambulance just to have a job. Our area is concentrating on hiring only BSN nurses.