Hello

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello

Hello I am 20 years old and have recently been diagnosed with MS. I am a college student but since my mom works there I still live at home so I can have free tuition. It is weird everyone that I have told about my diagnosis is more scared about it than I am. Can anyone tell me how I was suppose to react to the news, because judging from my family I didn't react properly?

There is no "right" way to react. I believe that however we react, the family will do the opposite. If we are calm, they will think we are in denial. If we panic they will reassure us that everything is fine and panic while we are not looking.

I liked the advice I read on a different MS website that said the worst advice you can get is to take your time and grieve. They believe that fighting it from the beginning is the best approach through healthy diet, exercise, meditation, and medication. I know MS is unpredictable, but a healthy lifestyle and attitude can't hurt.

Comment

Yes, there is no right way to react to a MS diagnosis. You take it how ever you want, MS can become your new hobby, just not one you ever wanted. It is not the end of your life, just may change the path you take. With a positive attitude you should do well. Your family will handle it good once they realize you are doing well with it.
      Bill
      Scuba, true meaning of Life! USS Wilkes Barre 91, USS Monitor 96, 97, 99 .. Andrea Doria 96, 98 .. San Francisco Maru 09

Comment

Hello Mel

Welcome to MS World - nice to meet you!

Your reaction to the diagnosis is your reaction - there is no right or wrong.

Your family loves you and that's their reaction about your diagnosis.

Most people think of the worst case scenarios when it comes to MS. But MS affects each individual in it's own unique way. And each individual learns to deal with the particular ways MS affects them.

None of us has a crystal ball