Do I qualify as Ms disabled?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do I qualify as Ms disabled?

Hello. I am 51yrs of age. I know I have enough credits to qualify for SSDI. I was diagnosed with MS in 2004. I was a hairdresser for over 20 yrs. I stopped in 2005. Could no longer do the job. I have been a substitute teacher since then. have done well up until the last 4 yrs. Bouts of vertigo off and on every yr. and some moderate cognitive issues according to my neurophsyc report.

I was off for 3 months the first ime with vertigo. 2 years later 2 months. Did well last year. Now I have been off for a little over a month because of it. I have problems sleepling so I take medecation for that sometimes. Plus I am now taking the meds for vertigo which make me sluggish and tired.

My husband had been trying to get me to file since it started since the disability income is higher than the subbing. Iam afraid to file because im not sure I would be seen as disabled. I make less than 1000 per month. when I miss those opportunities to work I barely have anything coming in.

When this vertigo comes on its hard to work. Though there have been times ive pushed through it because we need the income.

My question is how severe does your Ms disability have to be?
    Thanks

I wish I had an answer for you. I lost my job in 2010. My boss said that I had memory problems, and I have been dealing with extreme fatigue almost daily. I try to control by my diet and taking suppliments. Drinking kale and taking SST powder. I have applied for disability, but have been denied. Probably because I was still trying to finish my masters degree, which I am not able to do. I'm having sever cognitive issues and memory. I have fallen several times, but cannot go to the doctor because I have no insurance.

Comment

I don't think anyone on the board will be able to answer if you are disabled. You should have this discussion with your neurologist.