Depressed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Depressed

I'm very new to this so I apologise in advance. I was diagnosed with MS almost two years and its been a very difficult struggle. It seems as though I'm just beginning to realise what's actually going on and because of that I've been battling major depression for the past year or two ans it doesnt seem to be getting any better. Every time I try to explain it or talk about it with my husband or close friends they brush it off quickly and say that everyone goes through it. It's very difficult for me to deal with it and all of my MS symptoms. Does anyone have any advice? I feel like I'm drowning here. Thanks

Sure, no problem. And first off, don't apologize.

When I found myself in a dark place, I told my family doc, who I have a good rapport with. I trust him; He was actually the doc who diagnosed me (and sent me off for a second opinion; He is very well-read and stays on top of current developments. I don't know if your doc is a resource for you or a roadblock. I hope it's the former. If you have someone in the medical field that you can trust like I do, I'd tell them.

It seems to me like you have good reason to be depressed although you only allude to "what is going on" to make you depressed. So, what exactly is going on with you re: MS and symptoms? Anxiety? Are you worrying about potential future problems? Current ones?

Besides trying to share how you're feeling with the usual suspects, (perfectly normal response, by the way) what other things do you do to try to feel better? What other activities do you find soothing/calming/comforting?

Comment

Hello Fitzgirl and welcome to MSWorld.

Depression can be treated with anti-depressants and/or Psychotherapy. Ideally a Psychiatrist is the best Physician for the treatment of depression as it's their specialty, but your Primary Care Physician or Neurologist can prescribe anti-depressants.