Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Veterans with MS

Good Morning -
    I am an Air Force Veteran - I got honorably discharged in 1984. I was diagnosed with MS in 2003 but they date it back to around 1998. I was stationed for 3 years in Okinawa Japan - can I file a claim that my MS is service related or would that be a stretch?? Since they don't know what causes MS - viral, environmental, etc...why wouldn't it be - ALS is now a definite claim. Any ideas? Thank you in advance!

You have a seven year window after your EAOS (in your case, 1991) to show that you may have had MS while you were active duty if you're aiming for a service-connected pension. If you can document symptoms during that seven year period (Dr. visits, ER, consults, etc.) which led to your MS diagnosis that also counts. Check the sticky threads for more info.
    You can use the VA for health care and meds at any time, depending on your financial status and ins. coverage the VA may be a much better deal.

Comment

Bob- I have to disagree with your comment about the 7 years unless I am misunderstanding what you are saying. I have applied for service related disability, I have been out for 22 years now, but they have found numberous early MS symptoms in my medicals records dating back to late 70's . I wasn't diagnosed until 2008. The PVA rep said there is no problem that it has been that long as long as the notes aremade in my med records of symptoms.

KZAK- I agree with Bob that you need to apply for VA med care, you can do with forms you can print fro mthier web site, they are providing my tysabri, baclofen and Ampyra all at no charge to me even though I have not been awarded any disability rating from them yet.
      Plan for the future, but not too hard; it’s not your decision anyway

Comment

The VA's rules for MS are seven years from EAOS.