Help with VA healthcare

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with VA healthcare

I am a nine year navy veteran from 1997-2006. When I received my first MS diagnosis, I went to the VA hospital in Baltimore to enroll. We have a VA MS Center of Excellence here. I was frightened because I had been hospitalized twice in a little over a month. One of those times I ended up in a wheelchair. They told me I made too much money and wouldn't enroll me in the system. Everything I read online tells me that any veteran with MS, service connected or not, can be seen at the VA if they have an honorable discharge. I do have an honorable.

I have insurance and I am working. I don't want anything from the VA right now, except to get on the books, just in case. I tried again and called the center directly. The receptionist told me that I need a referral from my neuro. It just so happens my neuro is the head of the MCoE, and he called them for me. They called me back and said that I was denied in the system because of my income. They also told me that the referral is supposed to come from my PC, who would be a VA doctor.

I feel like I am banging my head against a wall. Is it really true that any vet with MS can be seen? I can't figure out where to go from here. Any help would be totally appreciated.
    You can't stop washing your feet just because you're afraid you'll fall in the shower.

Contact a service organization to see if they will get some action for you, I used PVA but some have had no luck with them as others have not had any luck with other S/O. I assume you told them you have MS when they denied you.