VA says MS is Service related?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VA says MS is Service related?

I am just curious and I am absolutly NOT disrespecting anyones service!!! Tracy Cooper-Harris was diagnosed with MS and she is a married Lesbian and is sueing for her spouse to have her disability after her death from the VA. All of this is fine and I do not have issue with this and really do not have a question about that.

But the VA says her MS is service related to pay her disability. Is this inorder to pay her disability through the VA? She was a soldier for 12 years. (If this is none of my business please tell me) but I have MS and I wasnt in the service and do not understand how it can be "service related."
    I appreciate your help but I wouldnt want anyones real issues that are service related to be downgraded by something like a disease!! PTSD is much to serious!!!

Thanks!

LZMOM

LZMOM,

Let me start by saying that I am not an expert on these things so consider my answer speculation. I do hope that my post gives you a different view of the situation.

I served during Desert Storm and worked several years at a Division Medical Operations Center. I wrote orders and helped with presentations and saw a lot. What the public hears about and what actually happen are sometimes 2 different things.

When you join the military - you "belong" to the government. When they tell you to line up for shots (immunizations) you get in line. You are never told what is being injected in to your body. The people giving injections do not know what is being injected. The military gives the government a broad spectrum of test subjects in relatively controlled environment.

I personally inventoried thousands of vials an packages of medication as they came back from Desert Storm. I was pregnant at the time, so I stayed stateside. I didn't wear gloves or a mask - no one even mentioned the idea. Who knows what I was exposed to?