Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

#60 & pml risk now

Hello everyone,

I had #60 today all went well. My MRI last month showed no change. I am remainning stable.

The only thing that changed is DR. said my risk of pml now is 1 in 250. Factors are jcv+ and lenght of time I have been on it.

I will have a MRI every 3 months.
    God Bless Us All

I'm new to this - You were JCV- and after a while turned + ?
    Diagnosed in 1986 - Copaxone since 1994 - Started Tysabri Feb 2012

Comment

Hello Michalk,

I tested jcv+ two years ago when I started in the jcv study.

Dr. said he got a new report yesterday which showed the risk for me is now 1 in 250.
      God Bless Us All

Comment

Originally posted by Michalk View Post
        I'm new to this - You were JCV- and after a while turned + ?
        The JC virus is pretty common. If a person tests - , they may eventually be exposed to it and become +. That's not the case with REG53, but it's entirely possible. A person should be retested periodically to be sure they are still -.

http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/pml/pml.htm

http://www.ninds.nih.gov/news_and_ev...Gene_Major.htm

http://www.msrc.co.uk/index.cfm/fuse...ow/pageid=1905

Comment

People who are + still take it?

I'm surprised people who are + take the risk. Or do they just have to keep a close watch? Sounds scary.
          I live in Israel and am treated in a hospital that has a very large MS center. They are very for Tysabri but will not give it to anyone who is jcv +
          when I start tomorrow I guess I'll find out how often they retest for jcv - I'm glad they're cautious and I guess I'm lucky that I'm negative
          Diagnosed in 1986 - Copaxone since 1994 - Started Tysabri Feb 2012

Comment

REG53

My neuro told me a few weeks ago that the stats for jcv+ are 1/700 for those on it over 4 years ?? Just makes you wonder
            I did test jcv- Nov 2011 but he's giving me the odds of + since in 2010 I tested +.