Tysabri v Gilenya

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tysabri v Gilenya

Good morning. This is my first time posting here, so please be patient. I was diagnosed in May 2011 and put on Avonex. Since then I have experienced significant cognitive issues- to the point that I've already applied for disability which is unreal. Anyway my neuro suggested ty or gilenya. I've tested + for jc but gilenya comes with its own cons. My eyesight is already pretty poor so I'm concerned about that possible side effect; also my bp is always low, so not sure about that either. I've also heard such good things about ty improving cognitive function. I know it's a personal decision, has anyone out there experienced this? If so which did you choose and how have things turned out?
    Diagnosed June 2011, Avonex 7/11-12/11

"We don't describe the world we see, we see the world we describe"

Hello Tinkerbell65,

i'm a few hours north of you. The road to the superbowl goes through my city (kind of really proud of that,this weekend).

gilenia was not available when i started tysabri, so i did not have a choice to make. but i know how frustrating it is to make the choice when I don't have the information I have later. i know without a doubt, with what i know now, i would be treading water right now given your choice.

there are 2 things happening this year that i would want to know.....and from there i generate 3 possible directions I would discuss with my doc. none of the directions include gilenya as a possible choice.

1. in the next few months the US FDA will issue their ruling on the jcv test, and how it will be used in the tysabri touch program. and this ruling may have ramifications on how insurance covers tysabri for jcv+ people.