A good Gilenya experience

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A good Gilenya experience

When I was deciding about Gilenya I did a lot of searching online for people's experiences and ended up terrified because of all the negative reports. Now that I've been on it a couple of months, I decided that as a "public services" I should post my experience.

I work in the dental field and I've noticed that root canals have gotten a bad reputation, mostly because no one bothers to tell their "good root canal" stories so the only thing people hear is the bad stuff. I'm here to tell you that root canals aren't all that bad, and Gilenya is great.

I had a slight drop in pulse and BP at first, but not enough to notice if I wasn't actually taking my pulse, and I think that has gradually returned to normal. Other than that, I haven't noticed a single other effect. I'm very fortunate in that if it weren't for those pesky MRIs, I wouldn't even know I had MS, so I can't weigh in on Gilenya improving how you feel, but popping a pill every morning and just getting on with life has been nothing short of a miracle especially after what I went through on Rebif.

I just wanted to put that out there for anyone else who is worried about starting, and I'm sure there are lots of others out there who are having good experiences and not saying anything about it.

** Moderator's note - Post broken into paragraphs for easier reading. Many people with MS have visual difficulties that prevent them from reading large blocks of print. **

That post came right on time for me! I have been soo freaked out about the idea of taking this medication; as a matter of fact, I cancelled my appointment to take my first dose because I was so scared(not smart, but I needed to take a break and let the thought sink in).

So thank you so much for letting me know that it is totally possible to be on this medication and not have your whole world turned upside down.

Comment