Flu Shot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flu Shot

Hi! I'm a teacher and I'm on Copaxone. Since I don't have a clue how Copaxone works, I don't know if I can still get a flu shot. Is my immune system compromised? Is it modified? I'm confused!!!

Hi kim-mastro,

The flu shot is not only considered safe for MS patients, it is also recommended. From the NMSS:

The Academy of Neurology, in collaboration with the Immunization Panel of the Multiple Sclerosis Council for Clinical Practice Guidelines, published a summary of evidence and recommendations regarding immunizations and MS. They concluded that:

The evidence supports strategies to minimize the risk of acquiring infectious diseases that may trigger MS relapses (also called attacks or exacerbations).

The influenza, hepatitis B, varicella and tetanus vaccines are safe for people with MS.

Decisions about the potential benefits and risks of any given immunization should be made in consultation with your healthcare providers, including your family physician and neurologist.

Special considerations

People who are experiencing a serious relapse that affects their ability to carry out activities of daily living should defer vaccination until 4-6 weeks after the onset of the relapse.

Inactivated vaccines are generally considered safe for people with MS, including those who are taking an interferon medication (Avonex®, Betaseron®, Extavia®, Rebif®), Aubagio®, Copaxone®, Gilenya®, Novantrone, Tecfidera® or Tysabri®.

Live, attenuated vaccines are generally not recommended for a person with MS because their ability to cause disease has been weakened but not totally inactivated.

People on therapies that suppress the immune system, such as Cytoxan, Imuran®, Novantrone, Rheumatrex® and/or chronic corticosteroid therapy, should consult their neurologist before taking any live-virus vaccine.