Copaxone 6 months Gained 25lbs...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Copaxone 6 months Gained 25lbs...?

Okay.... has anyone else gained weight while on Copaxone? I had been doing Tysabri for 5 years and never fluctuated above 140-145 lbs... I am now at 171lbs... What the heck? Am I just eating more? Laughing~ Or is there something with this that no one warned me about?

I have lost weight but I don't think it has anything to do with the Copaxone. It simply reflects my diet/lifestyle changes. While it possibly can affect weight, eating more, whether you are on Copaxone or not, will cause weight gain. Are you eating more?

Comment

getting less exercise?

I haven't gained any weight on C, and I've been able to lose a bit.

Changes in diet tend to cause the most immediate changes in weight, but activity level (burning calories) has just as big an effect in the long run.
      1st sx 11/26/09; Copaxone from 12/1/11 to 7/13/18
      NOT ALL SX ARE MS!

Comment

Yes...

I have always had a great appetite and maintained the same weight forever... but this year I had two things happen. I relapsed after going off Tysabri and had to take steroids (prednisone) for over 2 months.. maybe more.. then I had surgery for removal of an adrenal gland and had to replace the lost cortisol by taking "steroids".. hydrocortisone for another 4 months. Just now tapering off of those. So the whole time I was on the "new" Copaxone I was also taking steroids and I am actually HOPING its the steroids and will lose this weight... but then I heard that Copaxone can cause weight gain and wanted to see if that has happened to people that "were not" taking steroids..

Comment

Wow, I lost weight on it I was so nauseated all the time. I hope you can figure out what is going on (and I hope the answer is simple and boring) because you're right, that is quite a change.

Comment