I was recently diagnosed with MS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I was recently diagnosed with MS

Six years ago I had went completely blind in my right eye and I was treated for optic-neuritis and I got most of my vision back within two days after starting a high dosage of steroids. This time when I had a flare up I have went numb down the entire right side of my body and partially deaf in my left ear. My vision was damaged but not too bad and it is back. My neurologist tells me that he wants to start me on Avonex and I will be doing the 1/4 dosage and working my way up to the full dosage.

I dont know what the best medication is or which one has the least side effects but I am just going to pray and ask God to move because I know he is the great physician. I am feeling a little depressed and a little on an island all by myself. May seem crazy because I have alot of support but nobody realizes what I am going through. I am a school teacher and bus driver and cannot afford to retire at the present time.

I am hoping through prayer and avonex that I will be able to live a normal and productive life. I wish everyone on here the best.

One short story that really made me feel low yesterday was that I have a cousin who has been confined to a wheel chair every since birth and she is over 50 years of age now. I called her 0 times to check on her because we really just werent that close. Since i have been sick, she has called me at least 4 times and tells me she loves me and is praying for me. Sort of makes me put things in prospective that I havent been doing the things I need to do.

Good luck with Avonex! I was stressed out before I started after hearing all of the horrible stories about the side effects. I also started with the partial dosing & it really did help.