Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone tried Ayurvedic medicine for their MS?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone tried Ayurvedic medicine for their MS?

Hi,

I've been in a medication limbo for the last 3 years.
    Briefly, I can't take inteferon as my White Cell count bombs and I get very ill. This makes taking Gilenya not an option. I'm allergic to Tysabri and Copaxone doesn't help me.

I'm waiting for BG-12 next year while injecting Copaxone as there is nothing else that I can take, but in the meantime I've been researching Ayurvedic plants to try to control my relapses.

I'm very new to it so just wondered if anyone else has tried this?

Thanks
    Rach

I am being treated by a 'naturopath', MD, who uses all forms of medication, herbs, pharmaceuticals, etc. He doesn't prefer anything over another modality.
    I can tell you with certainty that his treatments have helped me as opposed to 'harmed me'. There has never been any chance of 'negative' side effects from any of the herbs, or supplements that he has treated me with. The only negative there is, his service and herbal supplements are not covered by my insurance. Cash only.
    If you aren't helped by 'conventional' methods and drugs, I would suggest finding an MD that is also an 'integrative' practitioner to consult. This isn't 'voodoo' medicine. It is becoming more 'main stream' every day. God luck

Comment

I don't know much about Ayurvedic medicine. However, I practice yoga and meditation and find them very helpful for MS.

Don't neglect vitamin D as one of the most potent disease modifiers.

Comment

Big Thank You!

Thanks JerryD and BigA for your replies.

I've been taking Vit D for some time now and injecting B-12 monthly and I think that they both help. I also take AlphaLipoicAcid, Fish Oil and antioxidants.