A Little Help From My Friends

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Little Help From My Friends

Hi everyone, I hope life is good for each of you today. I need some input. I take avonex for my RRMS. I still have pretty significant side effects from it and have been on it for nearly 1 year. My question is, if I am already feeling sick(swollen glands, fvr, achey) should I wait to give myself the shot or just go ahead w/ it and feel like crap all at one? Sorry for the negativity and poor punctuation but I am feeling pretty grumpy, tired and apathetic right now. And frustrated!!!! DID I MENTION FRUSTRATED!!!!! Thanks for letting me vent!

Welcome to the pin cushion club!

I've been self-injecting Avonex for 15 years (started 3 years after my dx back then there were no DMDs). Sometimes I still get bad flu-like side effects, too.

I'm no "expert" but I've always been told that keeping to your weekly schedule is important. Since it's only once a week, you can alternate days without much trouble but be sure to keep 48 hours between injections. IMHO, I say "stick with it" (pun intended ).

Best of luck!
    Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass; it's learning to dance in the rain!

Comment

It's a good question. I've waited a day. I'm sure you can wait 1 or 2 days, but do check with your doctor.

Also, my story may help:

1) It took 2 years before I really felt I had the symptoms go away, so it can still get better.

2) Even though they say to take it before bed, for me it's best to take it as early as possible in the morning.

With the pen, I will wakeup tomorrow and inject. Then I wait until my headache first appears and then I start taking alleve. Taking before never helped me, since it takes 6 hours to start.

After I take my shot, I go to the gym and do my shopping. By the time the symptoms kick in, I've got all my stuff done and can lie down as needed.

Comment