Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Copaxone injecting areas...

Hi,
    I know that you are supposed to inject Copaxone in the different areas on your body. I am new to this and just started but I do have a question about areas with very little body fat. I have very little fat in some of the areas suggested for injection. I did my first injection on my stomach, which happens to be my fattest spot other than the bottom of my buttocks..lol. Anyways, that injection was not painful at all. No swelling, etc. It just stung for a few minutes and it was gone. My second injection was on my thigh. It HURT and I have a lump like a bee sting. Of course, the top of my thighs have very little fat on them. I did adjust the needle length too. I have the same low fat issue with my arms and hips. I wish I could inject just where the fat is(around my stomach) but in different spots. I am not looking forward to injecting in my other thigh, hips or my arms.

I went over injection sites with my neuro, my arms are more a problem for me. She said to split the stomach into left and right and use them for two sites a week and then everything is kinda rotating 6 days instead of 7.

For the thighs, I have found that the outside is less painful then using the tops. My neuro said you can also try the inside if you have a spot on your thighs that has more sub-q fat / tissue.

For the arms, if you can get somebody else to do the injection for you, I have found that kinda using the back to slight underside of the arm was the least painful. But, I have opted to skip my arms for a bit. If my legs give me a problem, might use the arm every once in a while, but....

For the hip, I go further down towards the butt where its more fleshy. Just be careful and don't go too close to the center of your back / butt.