Rebif cause ulcers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rebif cause ulcers?

I was wondering if anyone has taken rebif and had any issues with ulcers of any kind. I have been on rebif for two months now and have had mouth, nose, and esophageal ulcers since then. I will say I have had stomach ulcers in the past, but never in my esophagus or so many at once and I know rebif can cause ulcers in the mouth. Any help please? I go to my neurologist in a few weeks just curious until then.
    "My grace is sufficient for you, for my power
    is made perfect in weakness." -2 Cor. 12:9

dx 11.23.10 RRMS

Have you called your Dr to ask the question? I am brand new to rebif... so I have no clue.. but very interested to see what the answer would be..

Comment

Rebif and Ulcers

I have been taking Rebif for about 6 years with no major issues. I have never heard or read that Rebif will cause mouth sores and have never personally had that problem. I have read both the Medication Guide and the Prescribing Information and nowhere does it mention that ulcers are a side effect of Rebif. There may be plenty of others such as influenza-like symptoms, abdominal pain, depression, elevation of liver enzymes, injection site reactions, and blood abnormalities.

How do you know that you have esophageal ulcers? Have you had an endoscopic examination? Has a doctor given you that diagnosis or is this a self-diagnosis?

It certainly sounds like an unpleasant problem. I think it rates a visit to an ENT (ear, nose and throat) physician sooner rather than later. I personally would not wait around for the neurologist visit if I was in a lot of discomfort.

You might also want to give MS LifeLines a call and ask to speak to a nurse. They might have some useful information for you. You can even contact the FDA and file an Adverse Event Report if you truly believe this is Rebif related

I hope things get better for you. Keep us posted.

Comment