Getting worse on Rebif?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting worse on Rebif?

I'm new to all of this and so I looked to see if there were other threads that talk about getting worse on interferons but couldn't find anything easily... so asking this: I started Rebif 3 months ago and for the last month I had new symptoms show up and old symptoms worsen. I did another round of steroids which helped the new symptoms for a few weeks, and don't have a viral or bacterial infection so I'm starting to wonder if I may be part of the 1/3 of us that do worse on interferons? I already developed anemia and blood blisters from the Rebif (rare side effects) so it wouldn't surprise me - but mostly it's because I feel so much worse now than I did 3 months ago. Any experiences or thoughts welcome. THX!
    RR spinal cord predominant MS; Doing well on Tecfidera for 3+ years

Are your symptoms getting worse or are you having relapses? If you're new to the disease, it's hard to know what is part of your nervous systems new repertoire or what is new.

I was paranoid about the 1/3 1/3 1/3 rule as well when I started Avonex. After 2 years, I'm certain I'm not in the bad 1/3. Also, we never heard from that loudmouth researcher who did this research.

If you are doing worse on Rebif (note, don't measure by your symptoms, only by relapses), then you might switch to Copaxone. However 3 months is generally not enough time to know and probably you're anxious about it.

Have you had your VitaminD levels checked? They're typically low after a relapse and you should have them checked and supplement if low. they almost certainly are.

Comment

I did Rebif for 8 months with a steady decline, so I switched to Ty 10 months ago.
      Still a steady decline, so I am looking at another change next month.
      Some of these drugs work great for some, and others like me, not so much.

Comment

Originally posted by mochadog View Post