Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Oral Prednisone vs IV?

Hi-

This is my first time post since being diagnosed with MS in May. My doctor immediately got me started on a DMD-Betaseron.

But it does seem like I'm showing signs of a new symptom... So on friday, when I saw my neurologist, he wanted to start me on steroid treatment. Since Monday would have been the earliest I can start the IV treatment, we talked about the oral treatment. So he put me on Prednisone 50mg tablets- 13 tabs in am and 12 tabs in early pm (so that's 1250mg and 1000mg doses of predisolone). I'm to do this for 3 days.

I've heard of other people doing the oral steroid... But usually the post that they just did it once a day. Has there been any one else that had done it twice a day? And think it's okay that I still take my Beta?

13 tabs in am and 12 tabs in early pm (so that's 1250mg and 1000mg doses of predisolone).
    13 pills is 650mg and 12 is 600mg, so you're taking a total of 1250mg a day. Maybe splitting it up during the day makes it easier on your stomach?

Comment

Hi laura:
      StillOkay is correct. 50x25=1250. You're taking 1250 mg of prednisone per day, which is the oral prednisone equivalent of 1000 mg IV prednisolone (Solu-Medrol).

The number of times per day isn't of major importance. Dividing the dose allows you to reduce the number of tablets taken at one time, which is easier on your stomach. Some people divide the dose into three or four times per day because it's easier that way.

Outpatient IVs are done once per day because it's easier that way. Also, when you read here about people taking steroids once per day, they're generally talking about a low dose of oral prednisone, not the high dose used as an IV equivalent.

Your doctor should have recommended that you take a stomach-acid reducer while you're on the med, and for a couple of days afterward. If he didn't, you should do it anyway. Any generic acid reducer will do.