Topamax & Hair loss?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Topamax & Hair loss?

Anyone else on Topamax and experiencing more than usual hair loss?

I've been on it since January and have read about this side effect, but only recently started experiencing it. Since I have a ton of hair, I'm not too worried about it yet, but I'd like to avoid losing too much if possible.

Getting off of it is not an option at this time- it is for a hand tremor and I'm a photographer. I'm not willing to let my hand tremor get even worse than it is.
    Erin

doing the Limbo since 2005

Usually you can counteract it with, I believe, zinc oxide supplements. Depakote has the same effect.
    Diagnosis: May, 2008
    Avonex, Copaxone, Tysabri starting 8/17/11

Comment

I'm on Rebif and was worried about hair loss as it is quite thin now, but just the opposite is happening, I've had quite a bit of hair gain on my head, and at 49 my stomach was hairless and now it is starting to look like a hairy *** dog, guess I should be happy about that, I can say what a surprise this has been and hope it moves up to my chest

Comment

Originally posted by maximumlite View Post
        I'm on Rebif and was worried about hair loss as it is quite thin now, but just the opposite is happening, I've had quite a bit of hair gain on my head, and at 49 my stomach was hairless and now it is starting to look like a hairy *** dog, guess I should be happy about that, I can say what a surprise this has been and hope it moves up to my chest
        I was on Rebif for 3 months and noticed MAJOR hair loss. My neurologist switched me over to Copaxone and it has not helped at all. It seems that I'm losing more hair each day. I'm terrified of ending up bald! I've lost at least 2/3 of my hair. I went to a dermatologist and did a bunch of blood tests and all vitamin levels seem to be normal. Does anyone have any suggestions?
        Diagnosed Feb. 2011