Frustrated and hanging in Limbo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Frustrated and hanging in Limbo

Hi! I am new here. I am enjoying reading posts and learning from everyone. I am hanging in limbo and becoming very frustrated with myself. Let me introduce myself and tell my story.

I am a 40 year old single mom who started having symptoms the beginning of September last year. I woke up one day and my entire right arm was numb. I brushed it off to sleeping on it wrong. The next day my left arm was numb and over the next two days, I had numbness also in both legs with tingling in all extremities. I am a nurse and really started to worry when over the next few days I became very clumsy with my hands and started dropping things at work or trouble opening packages. I felt like I had 5 pairs of gloves on. I was also extremely fatigued. I went to my family Dr who ran all kinds of labs to rule everything else out. Let me mention that I have 2 uncles who have been diagnosed with MS. I mentioned this to my Dr and he said it was a possibility. He ruled everything else out and said it could be MS. He sent me for an MRI which showed 4 lesions on my brain.

I was referred to a neurologist that specializes in MS. At my first appt. he told me that it sounded like MS with the lesions and my symptoms. He ordered an MRI of my spine that showed no lesions. Of course, he said he couldn't absolutely diagnose it until my MRI showed new lesions.