21 and facing limitations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

21 and facing limitations

As this is called the "I can Relate" message board, I am sure many of you can understand being young and facing limitations when society tells us that we are in our prime.

I work as a CNA (certified nurses assistant) in a long term care facility. I have worked there for 3 years. I have been symptomatic for almost 2 years, diagnosed 3 months ago. My doctor told me I have to find a new job. She told me I can still do nursing just not in a hospital or long term care facility. My goal was to go back to nursing school in the fall.

Anyways, I was going to do an FMLA form. But I found out that if my dr even hints that I can't do my job, which I can, it's just not advised because it can be detrimental to my prognosis, my work will fire me because they can't accomodate to my needs.

Bottom line is that I am 21 and I wasn't prepared for having to change jobs and create new dreams. I feel frustrated because I don't want these limitations or unpredictability.

Oh I hear ya sister....

Hi Nicole I can "relate" to what you are going through. I too wanted to jump right into college and nursing school right out of high school. I just knew it was meant for me, I loved the idea of learning about medicine and taking care of people, essentially saving lives.

Well I was Dx just after my 19th birthday and crushed. I felt so completely lost with all my life plans. Long story short I went through IV Solumedrol treatment for 4 days, and 2 weeks later I felt better then ever.

So I went to college slowly to not overload myself with stress and in the meantime worked for 8yrs as a CNA in pretty much every department you can imagine and I LOVED IT!

Unfortunately the strain of the job got to be too much for my body to handle any longer. As you very well know the job is very fast paced and you can't always wait for another aide to come help you with patients.