MS and Cancer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MS and Cancer

I've had MS for 30 years and I've learned to accept all my limitations but now that (breast) cancer has snuck in and recurred I'm forced to look at the connection. I see all the other women on the Breast Cancer forums ready for battle against their new disease and I don't have the same enthusiasm. I'm tired. I've been fighting for 30 years already. On their "good days" between chemo treatments they run out "living life to its fullest" while I continue to have MS.

In some ways I saw it easier for me to adjust to cancer treatments than for these women who never faced an ailment harder than the flu in their lives. I'm no stranger to hospitals and IV treatments. I haven't been "superwoman" in many many years. I already rely on other people to take me places and help out with my shopping and other chores...

I don't think that there's any medical proof that MS treatments can cause cancer but I do think that the MS caused or affected the BC. I don't know if I can point to a specific drug but my MS lifestyle really is involved. Some of the ways that my MS never let me follow all the suggestions to fight cancer:

1- I'm not very active. I can only walk about 300 yards and not quickly so it's not exactly exercise. I can ride an exercise bike for about 20 minutes, but I really have to save my strength to do things like make supper so I don't do it often enough.

2- I don't have the energy to cook all those healthy things.

3- I never drink enough cause I'm afraid of not having a bathroom available.

4- I haven't worked in years and disability doesn't cover the costs of those health juices and things.

5 - Have you reached the MS-constipation stage? I'm sure I'm poisoning my body with constipation.

So those are my thoughts on how MS affects cancer.
    Dx 1/86 at age 23
    Copaxone 1993 - 2011 (except when I was pregnant or nursing)
    Tysabri - 2011 - present

Donna,