STALKER INSURANCE NURSE??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

STALKER INSURANCE NURSE??

Since I am new to this I figured it would probably be better to ask you guys here ...

but do ya'll have a special nurse from your insurance company that calls you??

I do and her name is Allison and I can't figure out if she is "nice" or "creepy-stalkerish" ...

anyway, she called me Friday and I was really sick - I puked 5 times in 2 hours ... she asked if I had called the doctor .. NO I didn't and why would I??

Should I have called the doctor? In the past I would not have called.

I told her I was really unable to talk and asked her call me back Monday ... was that OK?

Any help or advice would be great!!
    Jan 2012 - Onset of ON
    Feb 2013 - 2nd DX of ON
    March 2013 - 5 days IV steroids
    April 2013 - 5 days IV steroids
    June 5, 2013 - DX of RMMS

Some insurance companies assign nurses so patients don't feel alone with their conditions and it makes the company look good. Some assign them to try to make sure patients are following their treatments so they don't cost the insurance company more money. I've read that a lot of people actually like the attention. But if you don't you can just tell the nurse your not interested and to please not call anymore. You might have to call your member services or patient relations office and ask them to opt out. You don't have to talk to the nurse if you don't want to which means you didn't have to be artificially nice by asking her to call back on Monday. You could have just told her not to call back at all. Maybe you'll do that the next time?

Comment

Should you have called the doctor? Only YOU know about that (if you haven't guessed, I vote for stalkerish)!