Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ON pain questions

Hi All,

This is my very first time dealing with Optic Neuritis (yay!) and I have a few questions if you don't mind answering.

How long did it take for your pain to go away (without IV steroids)? I have had pain for about a week and a half now and it doesn't seem to be going away as stated it should in many articles.

Also, is it normal to wake up with bad pain in the eye and side of face? it seems as soon as I wake up the pain is at it's worst. I suspect it may be from sleeping on the affected side.

I appreciate it.

Hi Andria,

I'm sure others will be along to give you some info...but here's a couple threads where posters describe what ON was like for them. I thought it might be a good place for you to start to get some info (can't answer personally since my eye problems are double vision, not ON.)

http://www.msworld.org/forum/showthr...optic+neuritis

http://www.msworld.org/forum/showthr...optic+neuritis

Comment

Mine was severe pain in my left eye, to the point where turning that eye to the left was excurciating. That lasted for about 6 weeks.

I had ON at around the same time that I was diagnosed, but I didn't know it was related to MS so I never mentioned it to my neuro and never got it treated.

Comment

Originally posted by msesq View Post
        Mine was severe pain in my left eye, to the point where turning that eye to the left was excurciating. That lasted for about 6 weeks.

I had ON at around the same time that I was diagnosed, but I didn't know it was related to MS so I never mentioned it to my neuro and never got it treated.
        Did your ON resolve by itself? I am not getting treatment.

Comment

Mine continued to hurt and vision stayed gone for two months. It started improving when I did steroids- but I do hear that for many people, ON does clear up on its own. My neuro wasn't going to give me steroids just for the ON, but other things made it necessary.