question about relapse and remission

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

question about relapse and remission

I am new to this and appreciate whatever advice/guidance you with more experience can give me.

I seem to be having 3-4 weeks of wellness, lack of symptoms. Then a week or two of symptoms.

I will feel better, get back to the gym. Then symptoms come back.

I am just starting to research medicines, etc. New to this so exploring my options.

Is this pattern typical of anyone's experiences? I know everyone is different, but it seems some people go for months or years without symptoms.

thanks for your help!

take care,

Michele

Do you believe you are experiencing a new exacerbation or just the ebb and flow of symptoms. When I was recently diagnosed, I used to have symptoms which would come and go for a few weeks.

In my experience, it takes a while to get to know your "new body" with all its new quirks.

Just to be clear, there are two general types of medicines for MS:

So Called "Disease Modifying Drugs" (DMDs), which can slow the disease but do not make you feel better.

Drugs for symptoms - these do make you feel better but do not slow the disease.

Many people use a combination of both.

How long have you been diagnosed and when was your last exacerbation?

Comment

BigA- Thank you for taking the time to respond. I had my first "Big" symptom last October. Right side of my face went numb..took myself to ER. etc.

I started seeing a neuro in Jan. Have no visible lesions yet, but banding in my spinal fluid and some other indicators on my bloodwork. I go for follow up MRI in August.

You are so right. It DOES take time to learn the cues of this new body. I am in that process. I am definitely in a flare up right now..I only take pain meds at the moment.

thank you,

Michele

Comment