Might be the wrong forum to ask this

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Might be the wrong forum to ask this

Like I said this might be the wrong place if so I'm sorry. Before my diagnosis I was a full time student, but thanks to the memory issues from my seizures, and fatigue from the MS I haven't been able to take classes since. My question is does it ever get any better? I just want to try and finish my degree, but at the same time I don't want to waste my money if its never getting better.

Kyle, I moved your thread. It was no big deal where it was, but it will get more attention here.

Thank you very much.
    hunterd/HuntOP/Dave
    volunteer
    MS World
    hunterd@msworld.org
    PPMS DX 2001

"ADAPT AND OVERCOME" - MY COUSIN

Comment

Thank you for moving it for me. I wasn't quite sure where to post it.

Comment

I don't have seizures, but do get tired. I finished my masters last June (with a 4.0), but had to quit teaching in Oct. and go on disability.

Student loans can be forgiven when you have to go on disability. You call to tell them, and they send you a form to fill out and to take to your neuro if it's a permanant disability. It's not a perfect solution, but you can finish your degree without worrying about wasting money. MS is so unpredictable, so you might quit school and then not have a seizure. If you feel you can finish, do so. You'll have the degree that no one can take away from you and the possibility of using it if things get better with your health.

I felt well all through my courses, but declined quickly after receiving my degree. It's a crap shoot. Sorry I can't be more helpful.
        Dx 12/2006; first symptoms about 1984, but maybe earlier--on Gilenya and Ampyra.

"God has a lot of explaining to do"--Frida Kahlo

Comment

Hey Kyle,

How long have you been diagnosed? Some folks have it really rough for awhile, they often say the first year is the worst.