Steroids recently but still bad

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Steroids recently but still bad

Ok, since I'm new to this, I was treated for a severe exacerbation in early December with iv steroids. They seemed to help for maybe 4 days and I keep getting worse and worse by the day now. I posted recently about medication changes going on with me, but I'm wondering how often these steroid treatments can be done or if there are other options as I'm so miserable that I can't even stand to hardly move.
    RRMS 10/2011 Sick and tired of being sick and tired!

Steroids didn't help me much, so they don't work for everyone.

If you are going to get them, you have to act fast, as they only work within a certain window - I think it's 6 weeks, but can't remember.

Bear in mind they only speed healing that will take place anyway.

I think most important is how many infusions you had in a year. I had 5 and then 2 more during my last exacerbation. I stopped myself, realizing they were making making me feel bad.

And I never had a metal taste.

Ask your Neurologist.

Comment

I was told that the dose of IV steroids that I get when I've needed them (1,000 mg for 5 days) stays in my body for up to 12 months.

Also, I've always had an oral dose to taper off; you didn't mention if your doc has you doing this.

Not sure how many you can have in a year but 1 year I had 3. Long term, they did help a lot but it did take a while to realize it.
      RRMS 2005, Copaxone since 2007
      "I hope to be the person my dog thinks I am."

Comment

Depends I think

My very first Neuro didn't say anything about steriods...he was my Neuro for all of 10seconds though My hubby and I don't have very many nice things to say about him. LOL