Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Regular exposure to pathogens...Anyone out there in Clinical/Medical Lab Science?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Regular exposure to pathogens...Anyone out there in Clinical/Medical Lab Science?

Hey everyone.... I am currently a student looking to get into a clinical/medical laboratory science program. Right now, I'm taking a Medical Microbiology class with a lab.

I'm also currently dealing with an exacerbation and am getting a 5-day course of IVSM as a result. I spoke with my instructor about micro lab because we have been working with pathogenic bacteria and of course the IVSM suppresses my immune system. My instructor was very kind about my situation, saying that he wanted to err on the side of caution and would prefer that I didn't come to lab today. He wanted me to speak with my dr about labs, which I totally understand. But he also, perhaps not realizing that this is only a short-term treatment, mentioned speaking with my dr about the safety of me continuing on in the class.