The Value of Stockpiling for a Job Loss

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Value of Stockpiling for a Job Loss

I knew the day would come when my dream job would fire me. In fact, I completely agree with my employer’s course of action because I would have done the same thing. If a worker is no longer capable of doing his or her assigned task correctly within the time specified, especially if it is a high paying job, then he or she needs to go.

And in my case I didn’t want anyone to know about MS because my profession is highly complex. It is also a small industry of professionals that everybody at least knows someone at another company.

Long story short, I am so grateful that I stockpiled my DMD; I have a three and a half month supply. I stopped using Adderall so I am using my stockpile of Provigil instead. I will only tap into my Adderall (half a month’s worth) when I land a new job. Although generic Ambien is cheap I am using what is remaining of my Lunesta since I had stopped using it a long while ago.

I wish I could have stockpiled lots more stuff before I got the axe but at least saving up extra DMD and a stimulant is huge for me.

I guess one of the reasons that I didn’t stockpile everything is that my previous employer gave me such a generous severance package and even paid three months of my COBRA. The place that is giving me the axe is only going to pay out my unused vacation and that is it.

But I need to make better preparations for such an unpredictable disease like MS; like an emergency fund, reducing debt, stockpiling, etc. As for the DMD, I will see if I am really developing the neutralizing antibodies (NAB) in about three months from now. And if I do have to change to another DMD I will donate what I have extra to my neurologist.

Good thinking! I'm also all about survival at this point in time which includes squirelling away as much money as I possibly can for when/if the day comes that I can't work.