Wanting to chat with other nurses with ms

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wanting to chat with other nurses with ms

I was diagnosed 4-1-11 nice April Fool Day huh? I am 33 and work on ortho. Busy floor but I LOVE my job. It is getting harder to get through the days looking to try new meds to help. I would love to chat with others that are going through this as well and understand and know what I am going through.
    SillyD
    Dx RMMS 4/1/2011

been there

Hi and welcome
    First, I've been a nurse since 1991. Worked alot of different units in the hospital but, LOVED Ob-gyn and nursery. Worked most of my career there. Was dx in 2003 but have had sx since 95. Worked 12 hour shifts at 2 jobs at one point in my life. Then, bam, could hardly work 8 hours without needing a nap during the day. My hands would be numb so, Ivs got really tough. My back and legs would spasm and I got stuck when I would squat to help pts.

So, yes I understand where you are. I know how it is to love a job and not be able to do it. And I know how it is to be on disability from that job. Not only b/c I can't do it anymore, but, b/c it would endanger pts.

I hope you are able to cope with your job and physical needs. It is a balancing act.

Comment

It is hard we just had to go to 12 hour shift from 8's. I then had to go to part time cause I don't think I can handle 3 of them. I get soooo tired and my thighs get tingly and my back will spasm bad, I also get goofy and stumble. Usually if I can go on a break and sit down for a bit and regroup I do ok. I am having a hard time sleeping at night so I already start off the day OFF. Hands are good so still starting IVs and such its more fatigue and the cogn, tingling, headaches, spasms. Not bad huh? I do have a good sense of humor about it and so do the nurses I work with. They have all been going through this with me when I was diagnosed. As you can tell I also tend to ramble on and on. sorry
      SillyD
      Dx RMMS 4/1/2011