Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I've been made to feel like a liability

So here's my story.

I have worked for me current employer for 6 years, I was diagnosed 3 years ago. Up until 6 weeks ago I was an area manager. At the beginning of these 6 wks I had a relapse which left me feeling like I couldn't do my job anymore.

I stupidly listened to my depressed self and suggested to a collegue that I may have to change my role within the company (being an area manager I had to drive in excess of 150 miles a day). Within 3 hours of this suggestion I was called into a meeting where I was offered a managers position within my home town, I said I would have to think about it and needed to know the salary first. I was then signed off from work because of my relapse.

Within the weeks that followed (whilst I was off work) my area managers position was advertised and the whole company was told I had stepped down! But hang on, I hadn't made a decision, I still didn't know the salary.

I was then forced into accepting the position of manager as the salary could not be discussed until i had. Anyway I tried to look at it positively and returned to work as manager BUT it was hurrendous, the stress level was that high that my susmptoms went through the roof.

I then called a meeting to explain that I wanted my old job back but inwas told it had already been given to someone else and there was no way I could have it back,

I was then asked what my intentions were if I felt that the managers job wasn't for me', well I'm sure you can guess what I said.......that's right that I would have to leave and the response I got was nothing, just relieved expressions.

So here I am signed off from work again due to another suspected relapse brought on by the stress at work, earning no money and feeling like I don't have a job to go back to.