Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chair Needed

Hello All,

I'm new to this. My mother has MS. Mostly she sits in a kitchen chair (regular table), and uses a wheel chair/walker to get around when she has to.

Recently, sitting at the kitchen chair she has started leaning to the sides and can no longer hold herself upright. She has trouble with other areas she is using to pick up her weight (for the areas that are lacking). I would really like to find a place that sells wide kitchen chairs, with arms, that are a little higher than normal.

Any information on where to start, or tips for aiding this problem is much appreciated.

Hi Cclark, and welcome to MSWorld!

Here's what I did when I finally gave in to the fact that a wheelchair would keep me safe AND mobile...I called my chapter of the MS Society and got the name of a vendor they'd recommend. . I was a dancer in my previous life , so getting a wheelchair was a difficult decision for me. I don't love needing one, but I DO love that I can get to what I need very quickly (and that includes the bathroom! ).

The vendor came to my home to measure me, I chose what I wanted for the chair, and it came to me a few weeks later. I got something that reflects my personality...it's pink, is made for people who are athletes (specifically wheelchair basketball players, which I am NOT) and the small front wheels (called frog legs) light up when I roll. It's a real conversation-starter!

Your first step, of course, is to make sure your mom even wants one, though. Then, call her chapter of the Society and get started on having one made for her. Check her insurance to see how much they'll pay and how much she'll have to pay, if necessary. I did have a co-payment for mine. Good luck, and keep us posted!
    “The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong at the broken places.” Ernest Hemingway
    Diagnosed 1979

Comment