Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can assistance devices be harmful?

Hi,

Alright, I wrote about half before I realized that I needed to explain a bit, heh.

I finished my Masters of Science (also ironically titled MS on my degree) in August 2011. Before my graduation ceremony I had a job doing research in Portugal -- it was sort of poor scheduling imho because the ceremony was in December, so I had to miss it.

When I came out to Portugal I got a cane figuring that I would rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it, and just being so far from home made me a little nervous.

So now, here I am 8 months later, and I really don't think that I can manage too much without the cane. I never needed one before (7 years since diagnosed), and I have not had any recent exacerbations or really worsening symptoms. Is it possible that I have developed some sort of dependence on the cane and now cannot operate the same without one?

I sort of feel that I might have been better off without ever having gotten a cane (for a while longer anyways). Has this same sort of thing happened to anyone else?

It's not really that I feel unsafe without one -- I don't use it around the house for example, but I do have a habit of attacking the walls at home. However, now whenever I am out of the house I feel that I need it.

You are probably right though in that I have a tendency to put off changes, silly stubborn attitude of mine. Thanks, I just wasn't sure if this was a relatively common thing to develop dependence or not.

Comment

Hi joe and welcome! I'm going to put a different spin on your question. Psychologically speaking, you could feel that you "need" a device when in reality you are perfectly fine without it. It's unlikely that has happened given your explanation of moving about your home though.
      hunterd/HuntOP/Dave
      volunteer
      MS World
      hunterd@msworld.org
      PPMS DX 2001

"ADAPT AND OVERCOME" - MY COUSIN

Comment