X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Provigil - questions

Hello!

I am new to Provigil.

My dr prescribed 200 mg 2x a day (400 mg). I'm sensitive to medications so i started at 50mg 1x a day then moved to 100mg in the morning.

With the 100mg i feel GREAT. i love it but I start to get really crappy feeling about 6-8 hours later. I'm assuming that means that I should take the second pill at about that time.

So, my question is this:

Have any of you experienced this? a really yucky feeling crash as the pill wears off from your morning dose? and if you do, do you find that taking a second dose makes you feel better or worse? I feel SO bad (tired, really unfocused, shaky inside, not thinking well) that i'm not sure if taking more helps or will make it worse.

Of course I'll contact my dr about it and i suppose i'll just have to be brave and take the second dose like my dr told me to before i'll know either way but i was hoping maybe someone had experienced this and could help me feel a little less anxiety about moving my dose up to 2xs a day.

thank you for your input!

Hello Faey. I just started the Provigil yesterday, taking 200mg in the morning... and I felt awesome! I had no problem with jitters and such, and it worked all day for me. By the time I went to bed last night I was still feeling the effects a little ~ but I was still able to go to bed and get some good sleep. Took it again this morning, and again I am feeling great.
    Since you know about how long the 100mg lasted, don't wait quite the 6 hours before taking another 50mg. If you think the 50 isn't enough in the afternoon, move it up to 100mg.
    I hope this give you some peace of mind, and helps. Good luck with this and everything!

Stacey

Comment

I was diagnosed with narcolepsy (non-cateplexy) in November 2008 and prescribed Provigil for it, and diagnosed with MS 9/9/10. It definitely helps with my exhaustion, although I know it doesn't work for everyone with MS.