Exercise, Flares and Prednisone

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exercise, Flares and Prednisone

I have a two part question for anyone that may know. I appreciate any discussion on the matter or references to articles.

I have MS. I am experiencing a flare according to the Neuro...I am still new to all of this and these are the symptoms I've had as long as I can remember.

I just started a course of Prednisone treatment. (1st day) When i found out about my MS, I started riding my stationary bike and walking despite the ungodly pain because I have read that exercise and diet play a crucial role in the course of the disease. Nowhere did I read whether doing the exercise through the pain was a good idea or not. Could I be doing more harm than good? or is the old notion of "no pain no gain" still a good theory?

Second part of my question...will the prednisone alleviate all of this pain? or is it possible this is a symptom I am stuck with? it just never seems to let up completely. In places it does but only to hit me somewhere else. Last week it was my left leg, this week its my right arm and shoulder, sometimes its my hands or feet. The pain feels like massive explosions going off on my body at times and at times it is just a dull ache that settles in for the day. There are other symptoms too but the pain is the one that is hardest to deal with. Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Kim
    Hope for the best, prepare for the worst and that way you have all your bases covered.

Steroids are used for acute exacerbations (flare-up, attack, relapse). Steroids may help shorten an exacerbation but does not change the outcome of the disease. Not all exacerbations require steroids.

Information about exacerbations:
    http://www.nationalmssociety.org/abo...ons/index.aspx

Steroids should not be used for symptom management, there are symptom management medications.