Am I "Officially" disabled?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Am I "Officially" disabled?

I have had MS for 20+ years. I tried for SSI back in the 90's but was denied.
    I was wondering when it comes to filling out a state or federal form (medical assistance, taxes etc..) that ask if I am disabled, what legally can I answer? Is there a qualifying determination, and if so, who makes that determination?

Don't know a lot about this but I would think it would be your Dr., wouldn't it?

Comment

i don't think there is an "official" definition for disabled. each organization can have its own definition for disabled.
      i questioned this when this whole ms thing entered my life.
      at the time i was a returning adult student going back to get a 2nd degree.

i read on the ms message board of a woman who was considered "disabled" by the university and as such was allowed extra services provided by the university. she applied for ssdi and expected to be awarded quickly because she was already considered disabled by the university...but she was denied. her disabilty did not meet the more strenuous requirements of SS disability.

from that i began to understand that each organization has its own definition of disabled. a person might be university disabled, work disabled, housing disabled for grants & stuff, or ss disabled. generally if someone is ss disabled they qualify for disabled in all other programs. but the reverse is not true. a person can be disabled in other programs that do not meet ss standards.