Losing my mind...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Losing my mind...

I'm starting to get scared. I'm losing myself.

I'm 24 years old. I got my MSW (Master's in Social Work) in May of 2010, and my MS dx in December of 2010. I remember when, even in the throes of my MSW program, I didn't use a calendar or a planner. I just remembered everything. I was on time to every meeting, class, social event, what-have-you.

Now, post-diagnosis, I still work 40+ hours per week, but I have post-it notes all over my desk. I use a calendar and make a list of the day's tasks. If I don't, I'll forget something.

Each day, I notice more and more forgetfulness:

Yesterday, I asked my husband the same question 3 times in a half-hour period. Today, I walked out of the house, drove 30 minutes to the office, and walked in the door before I realized I'd FORGOTTEN MY SHOES. Now I have to go home and get them before I go out to my appointments.

I'm just sitting here trying not to cry.

FYI: I just started Copaxone a month ago, so I'm not on any other additional meds (for sx) yet. That said, I'm really thinking I'll need them soon.
    "Be the reason for someone’s happiness, not just a part of it. Be a part of someone’s sadness, but not the reason for it."

I can relate- to feel like losing my mind too! Just the other day when my 7 year old grandson was over, I asked him to take the ice pack off my leg and ( I was on my lift chair) and I would go play checkers with him in the kitchen,. He says" where's the ice pack gramma?" I said right here on my left leg.

Well, I thought I had went to get it and put it on, guess what- I didn't!! Pour kid- he must think gramma is alittle off he-he!! My leg felt cold enough - could have sworn that the ice pack was there.

I give you alot of credit for getting your Masters- I personally couldn't wait to get out of high school!