Copaxone - autoinject or manual??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Copaxone - autoinject or manual??

I guess that I'm just wondering which method is preferred. I start Copaxone next week and I am hesitant. Which method works better to avoid the problems with it? Is manual injection safer, easier on your body?
    Love, Laugh, Live...in this order
    Dx'd 2-24-11 - Baclofen 60 mg/day 5-11, LDN 4.5 mg/day 9-24-11, Cymbalta 60mg/day for pain 11-11

When I was on Betaseron, I preferred manual. Seemed to make site reactions less.

However, for some reason, with Copaxone, the ability to set the depth on the auto-injector seems to be more effective at controlling site reactions for me than injecting manually.

And, now. Since I've been doing it with the AI for 2+ years, I've become too much of a needle-weenie, again, to consider going back to injecting manually.

I suspect, though, inmoni5, that we'll have varying opinions, and you may just need to try both for yourself and see what you prefer.

~ Faith
    ~ Faith
    MSWorld Volunteer -- Moderator since JUN2012
    (now a Mimibug)

Symptoms began in JAN02
    - Dx with RRMS in OCT03, following 21 months of limbo, ruling out lots of other dx, and some "probable stroke" and "probable CNS" dx for awhile.
    - In 2008, I was back in limbo briefly, then re-dx w/ MS: JUL08

- Betaseron NOV03-AUG08; Copaxone20 SEPT08-APR15; Copaxone40 APR15-present
    - Began receiving SSDI / LTD NOV08. Not employed. I volunteer in my church and community.

Comment

Originally posted by Mamabug View Post
      I suspect, though, inmoni5, that we'll have varying opinions, and you may just need to try both for yourself and see what you prefer.
      Agreed! You should learn and try both. One may work better than the other for you. Plus, some sites can be easier with the AutoJect, like the butt and back of the arm.