Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

solumedrol questions

Hi,

This is my first time on the IV solumedrol. I started it Thursday and will be on it for the 5 days. So far no side effects. I am not feeling much of anything, no relief yet from the horrible weakness or leg pain.
    I am hooking it up myslef which is a bit scary for me but day 2 and I am okay.
    When did you feel any side effects or relief? Thanks so much.
    And even though the moment passed me by I still can't turn away
    'Cause all the dreams you never thought you'd lose
    Got tossed along the way

Side effects? Pretty much from the first day. Nervous energy, acid stomach, thirst & hunger.

Relief? Sometimes within the first 3 or 4 days, sometimes not until a week or so later.

Hang in there!

Comment

Thanks for the reply Karen. Maybe I wont' have the nervous energy. I was hoping for a little bit. I woke up today after my 2nd infusion, slept fine again last night . no hunger, energy I feel exactly the same. Thanks again!
      Got tossed along the way

Comment

Relief

Hi I had a 5 day round of solumedrol in July 2010. I did not feel relief right of the bat. It took a couple days but boy it sure did get me out of a serious flare. Side effects, sweating and metallic taste from the first dose.

But after the 5 days I felt better as far as symptoms but the vertigo absolutely horrendous. Those were the worst for me.

I too was considered home bound (or my insurance wouldn't pay) and had to hook myself up every night.

Just be careful with the IV that you have to keep in and if you have any probs or need it moved call the Nurse and have them come take care of it, I did I had to have it moved once because it started to hurt.

But as hard as it was and there were other side effects but none that were too bad oh except the all over body aches and extreme skin sensitivity. I will say, it was worth it at that flare but hard to say if I could do it again. Don't know. Good luck