Ouch....ear ache

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ouch....ear ache

I have an awful pain in my left ear, but no infection. I have upped my neuotin and took ibuprofen, tried hot water bottle, cold compresses. No relief.

I had a bad episode of vertigo a month ago and every since then have had on and off pain in my ear. Also having a new symptom now; tenitis that sounds like a mild screatching.

Am I stuck to just "deal" or do you have a recommendation.

I am still learning about all that is store for me as I wrap my mind around MS.....so thank you for being here. I am truly greatful.

You may have developed Trimengial Neuralgia.

It's very painful when it flares up, feeling like it starts deep in your ear and the pain radiates to the temple and down the lower jaw.

See your neurologist for an evaluation.

Amytryptyline (the generic for Elavil) is $4 and helps keep it at bay but when it flares, you usually need a strong pain reliever and ice packs work best for me.

Gina
    Faith, Hope & Love
    Gina
    MS 1988 SPMS 2005

Comment

Ear ache

I had an episode of trigeminal neuralgia last year that lasted a month. Heat relieved some of the pain. My neuro gave me a Rx, but it made me too weak. I had a regularly scheduled dose of solumedrol and the pain went away. Definitely talk to your dr. I've had problems with ringing and crackling in my other ear, w/ hearing loss, that cleared on its own after 3 mos. The ringing is less annoying over time. Hope this clears up soon.

Comment

ear pain

Ear pain can also be caused by sinuses. Try a dose of guafinesine (mucinex) and see if it helps.

Comment

My ENT prescribed 40 mg. prednisone a day for a week when I developed hearing loss, tinnitis, ear pain that felt like a "stuffiness" and ache. I ended up on the prednisone for about 6 weeks and regained my hearing and calmed down all the symptoms.

Comment

OK I had the same thing. The vertigo is what got me dx'd with MS (after the MRI and spinal of course.)