Newly diagnosed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newly diagnosed

I'm new to this world, and am pretty scared right now. I have to start medications soon, but other than that I don't know what's going on or what to expect. I've done some research on my own but no one can tell me how this is going to go. Will I be paralyzed in 5 years? Do I need to even worry about a retirement account? Please share your experiences.

Welcome aboard garrysgirl

Good luck with your up coming treatments. Please do let us know your progress.

Wish we could give you an answer as to what to expect.

MS is different for each of us. While we may all share common sx they don't necessarily follow a certain pattern.

As for the wc question, many MS'ers never require a wc while many do, but not by a predetermined time period.

What MS has taught me is to expect anything but don't get caught up worrying about what is next, because it does what it wants when it wants.

We can offer you suggestions on how to get relief for some sx, because of our experiences, but you should be following your doctors recommendations for you case.

One of the things you will find here to is plenty of people willing to listen when you need a friendly understanding ear.

Please do come back often to let us know how you are doing

Comment

For whatever it's worth, I've had MS (as far as having symptoms) for about 6 years now. I'm not paralyzed, have no problems walking, and I do have a retirement account.

Take the time to read through the posts here - they will give you some great insights into how different life with MS is for everyone and how to cope with it on a physical, mental, and emotional level.

Comment

Hi Garrysgirl.

I've lived with the sx of MS since I'm 14. I'm 47 now. I haven't had too many visible sx until the last 2 years or so.