Employment and starting a family

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Employment and starting a family

So I just graduated from Nursing school. Me and husband have been married a year now and were thinking about having kids. The issue is fitting it in with the whole trying to get/keep a job/worrying about relapses/financial issues.

Since I'm on Tysabri, I believe it's six months that I would have to be off meds before we could even try. Being a nurse, I don't know that I could trust myself working and not being on meds. So I figure it would either be we try now and I don't apply for jobs for a year which a) I don't know if we could afford especially being as I have to start paying back student loans on top of everything else, b) i don't want to forget half of what I learned in college and c) it looks bad on a resume. Or I could get a job and work for a few years then quit, which also looks bad on a resume, plus I'm impatient.

I guess I'm looking for opinions and also just venting. Just another thing that MS has to complicate.

adding babies to the family...

All other concerns aside...My husband and I were married two years when we started trying and four years before baby came. In hindsight, over twenty years later, I see that it could have been of great benefit to our marriage to have waited a bit longer. We have a wonderful marriage and our children are a joy. However, it is just a fact that adding to the family adds stress. There are many things married couples don't realize they need to work on until baby comes. The stronger the marriage before baby, the better.

I wanted to be a stay-at-home mother and so am glad that I didn't start an important career. Since we were not dependent on my salary, I was able to quit work and stay home with our children.