Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Numb mouth and loss of taste

Hey all,

I'm wondering if any of you can offer me some advice.

I've developed some numbness in my mouth and have lost my ability to taste. It is focused primarily on the right side and includes the inside of my cheek, my gums, teeth and half my tongue. It feels like I have had some dental freezing.
    I haven't lost any mobility in my tongue so it seems to be only affecting my sensation of feeling and taste.

Has anyone else experienced something like this and do you know if there is anything I can do?
    I haven't contacted my Neuro yet and I can't get in to see my family doctor for awhile.

I am a chef, and though I don't cook professionally anymore, I am a foodie and can't bear the thought that I have lost my ability to taste food. Gah.... frustrating.

Thanks for any advice that is given.

Cheers,

Arthur
    " An eye for an eye; and soon the whole world is blind" -- Mahatma Ghandi

Ive experienced this once. Contact your neuro. It went away as soon as I got steroids.

Comment

One of my first symptoms (and constant friend) has been left sided tongue and facial problems.

If you drew a line down my the middle of my tongue, the left side is the side that's affected. It goes from being numb (like deader than a doornail) to being tingly or burning, to imparing my speech so I sound drunk.

At some level those symptoms are always there, but I've had them so long they're sort of low in my conscienceness.

There are meds you can try. Neurontin and Tegretol may help w/any sensory symptoms. I've found the best med for me is Klonopin .25 mg. If you look up Burning Mouth Syndrome (which isn't MS related, but is a nerve impairment to the tongue/mouth) you'll find that Yale researches found that Klonopin, in a small dose, was the best med for controlling the sensations of that syndrome. I've found that it works well for MS tongue related problems as well.