Strabismus Surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strabismus Surgery

My double vision has worsened significantly since my last flare. I see double even with my prism lenses and I am maxed out on prism. My neuro-ophthalmologist believes my brain can no longer compensate for the double vision. As a result, I will have surgery on my right eye tomorrow. I am very nervous but hopeful for a good outcome.

The operation must be done under general anesthesia and that is concerning me the most. I hate going under general anesthesia and knowing that someone else is responsible for my most basic life functions, such as breathing! I work in the medical field so I think it is a situation of knowing too much!

My 4th cranial nerve is paralyzed from a brain stem lesion so my surgeon will be moving the an eye muscle to a different location on my eye and weakening the opposing eye muscle.

Has anyone else gone through this surgery and can tell me how successful it was and what the recovery was like? I will update when I can. Thanks!

I can't help on the surgery polopuppy, but wanted to wish you well. I hope you have a speedy recovery and a successful one too. Will be thinking of you tomorrow morning.
    Kathy
    DX 01/06, currently on Tysabri

Comment

I too am sending well wishes for a very successful operation, polopuppy

Let us know the outcome when you are up for it.
      Do you know if vision recovery will be immediate or take awhile to recover completely?

Best to you!
      1st sx '89 Dx '99 w/RRMS - SP since 2010
      Administrator Message Boards/Moderator

Comment

Hi polopuppy,

Wishing you all the best on your surgery
        Diagnosed 1984
        “Lightworkers aren’t here to avoid the darkness…they are here to transform the darkness through the illuminating power of love.” Muses from a mystic

Comment

Best Wishes polopuppy!

We're rooting for your successful surgery!
          PPMS for 26 years (dx 1998)